Vermont . . . State 14

Vermont's official state flag was adopted in 1923. The flag features Vermont's coat-of-arms on a field of deep blue. The coat-of-arms pictures a large pine tree, a cow, bales of hay, and sheaves of wheat . Vermont's mountains are pictured in the background. A stag's head is mounted over the scene. Boughs of pine needles wrap around the coat-of-arms. "VERMONT" and the state's motto, "FREEDOM AND UNITY," are written on a red ribbon under the scene.

Vermont became a state in 1791 as the 14th state in the USA. Vermont is one of the six New England states and one of the smaller states. It is bordered by New York on the west, the Canadian province of Québec on the north, New Hampshire on the east, and Massachusetts to the south. The capital cith is Montpelier and largest city is Burlington. Vermont is covered from south to north by the wooded Green Mountains and the state nickname is "The Green Mountain State".

Vermont Agriculture: Dairy products, cattle, hay, apples, maple products.

Vermont Industry: Electronic equipment, fabricated metal products, printing and publishing, paper products, tourism.

Vermont enjoys the four distinct seasons. Summers here are mild and pleasant and winters are cold and snowy. The statewide average high temperature in July is in the mid 70s, while in January, high temps are usually in the low 20s. Vermont rainfall approaches 40 inches per year, with much higher amounts in the mountains. In the Green Mountains, yearly snowfall amounts from 100 to 250 inches are commonplace.

Vermont has 14 Counties:
Addison - Bennington - Caledonia - Chittenden - Essex - Franklin - Grand Isle - Lamoille - Orange - Orleans - Rutland - Washington - Windham - Windsor

Search State Directories