Massachusetts . . . State 6

Massachusetts' flag shows a Native American carrying a bow and arrow on a blue shield on a white background. A white star represents Massachusetts as one of the original thirteen states. The state motto written in Latin and in yellow on a blue ribbon reads "ENSE PETIT PLACIDAM SUB LIBERTATE QUIETEM," meaning "By the sword we seek peace, but peace only under liberty." Above the shield is a arm wielding a sword.

Massachusetts is one of the original 13 states and the 6th of the Union in 1788. It is the 6th smallest state in the nation and one of the New England states. The capital and largest city is Boston. The five bordering states are New York, Vermont, New Hampshire, Connecticut and Rhode Island.

Massachusetts has great history and many visitors are drawn to the historic and cultural richness of Massachusetts. Massachusetts is the birthplace of our nation and several of its major industries. The Pilgrims established their settlement at Plymouth, Massachusetts in 1620, arriving on the Mayflower and the first celebration of Thanksgiving Day in 1620 was also celebrated at Plymouth.

Massachusetts weather conditions can change quickly and are very unpredictable especially near the coast. Massachusetts has a humid continental climate, with warm humid summers and very cold winters and heavy snowfall. Near the coast the climate is more moderate compared to the western and central parts of the state. Massachusetts is famous for its summer resorts, such as the sand beaches of Cape Cod and the islands of Nantucket and Martha’s Vineyard. Cape Cod, Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket experience great summer weather with cool ocean breezes. The overall state average high temperature in July is 80 degrees, and in the winter months high temps are usually in the 20-30s. The annual statewide average precipitation is 45 inches.

Massachusetts has been long known for agricultural and fishing. Other main agriculture include: nursery stock, dairy products, cranberries and vegetables.

Massachusetts Major industries are: Machinery, food processing, electric equipment, scientific instruments, printing and publishing, tourism and health care.

Massachusetts has 14 counties:
Barnstable - Berkshire - Bristol - Dukes - Essex - Franklin - Hampden - Hampshire - Middlesex - Nantucket - Norfolk - Plymouth - Suffolk - Worcester

Search State Directories