Kentucky . . . State 15

Kentucky's official state flag was adopted in 1918 and was changed in 1962. The flag has a deep blue background with part of the state seal in the center. In the center are the words "COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY" and "UNITED WE STAND, DIVIDED WE FALL." On the seal, a pioneer and a statesman are shaking hands which represent all the people. Goldenrod flowers encircle the bottom half of the seal.

Kentucky was the 15th state in the USA; it became a state in 1792. The capital city is Frankfort and largest city is Louisville. Kentucky is located in the south central U.S. and is the oldest state that is west of the Appalachians. It is bordered by seven states: Indiana, Ohio, West Virginia, Virginia, Tennessee, Missouri and Illinois.

Much of the state grows long stemmed grass that is bluish green and this is why Kentucky is known as the “Bluegrass State.” The eastern part of the state is the Appalachian mountains and the western part is fertile plains and lowlands.

The economy of Kentucky has relied on coal mining and bourbon whiskey as the major industries. Kentucky is one of the top coal producing states in the nation. Kentucky ranks high nationally in the production of numerous crops and has over 90,000 farms. Crops include corn, hay, tobacco, winter wheat and soybeans. Kentucky also ranks highly in livestock production.

The climate of Kentucky has a continental climate with warm or hot summers and cool winters. Precipitation is plentiful and because of the abundant rain and fertile soil there are over 88,000 farms which is the 4th most in the nation. On these farms, tobacco is the leading crop.

The state has a mild climate throughout the year. Summers are very pleasant, but occasional hot and humid days are not uncommon. Winter bring occasional snow but melts quickly. Summer highs statewide average 80 degrees and winter average near 35 degrees. Average annual precipitation is near 50 inches.

Many visitors come to Kentucky to visit the state's scenic mountains, valleys, and historical landmarks such as Mammoth Cave National Park, Abraham Lincoln Birthplace National Historic Site, and Cumberland Gap. Kentucky has had a rich history since the frontier times when the famous pioneer Daniel Boone first hunted bison in the mid 1700’s. Many tourists also come here to watch America's most prestigious horse race which is held annually in Louisville, the Kentucky Derby. Kentucky breeds these Thoroughbred horses and ranks number one in the nation.

Kentucky has 120 counties:
Adair - Allen - Anderson - Ballard - Barren - Bath - Bell - Boone - Bourbon - Boyd - Boyle - Bracken - Breathitt - Breckinridge - Bullitt - Butler - Caldwell - Calloway - Campbell - Carlisle - Carroll - Carter - Casey - Christian - Clark - Clay - Clinton - Crittenden - Cumberland - Daviess - Edmonson - Elliott - Estill - Fayette - Fleming - Floyd - Franklin - Fulton - Gallatin - Garrard - Grant - Graves - Grayson - Green - Greenup - Hancock - Hardin - Harlan - Harrison - Hart - Henderson - Henry - Hickman - Hopkins - Jackson - Jefferson - Jessamine - Johnson - Kenton - Knott - Knox - Larue - Laurel - Lawrence - Lee - Leslie - Letcher - Lewis - Lincoln - Livingston - Logan - Lyon - McCracken - McCreary - McLean - Madison - Magoffin - Marion - Marshall - Martin - Mason - Meade - Menifee - Mercer - Metcalfe - Monroe - Montgomery - Morgan - Muhlenberg - Nelson - Nicholas - Ohio - Oldham - Owen - Owsley - Pendleton - Perry - Pike - Powell - Pulaski - Robertson - Rockcastle - Rowan - Russell - Scott - Shelby - Simpson - Spencer - Taylor - Todd - Trigg - Trimble - Union - Warren - Washington - Wayne - Webster - Whitley - Wolfe - Woodford

Search State Directories