Georgia . . . State 4

Georgia's new official flag was designed in May 2003. Georgia's previous, controversial flag was based on the Confederate flag, which was a painful reminder of slavery to many people. It has three horizontal stripes, red, white, and red, with a blue square in the canton position. In the blue square is a circle of 13 white, five-pointed stars around the seal of the state of Georgia which symbolize the original 13 colonies. The state seal shows three pillars which symbolize the three branches of government in the USA: the Legislative, the Executive and the Judicial. They are under an arch which symbolize the Constitution and the year 1776, and banners reading "CONSTITUTION," "JUSTICE," "WISDOM," and "MODERATION." Under the seal is a yellow banner that states, "GEORGIA'S HISTORY" and shows five flags. A man with sword drawn is defending the Constitution, whose principles are wisdom, justice and moderation.

Georgia was the 4th state in the USA; it became a state on January 2, 1788. Georgia borders Florida, Alabama, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina. The state capital and largest city is Atlanta. Georgia is the tenth most populous state in the USA. Georgia is centrally located in the fastest growing region of the US and is the 4th fastest growing state in the nation.

Georgia enjoys a consistent and typically mild southern climate. Summers are hot and humid with statewide highs averaging in the mid-80s. Winter temperatures are cool but not too cold with daily highs in the mid-40s. Warmer conditions exist along the coastal areas.

Georgia is mountainous in the north with the Blue Ridge Mountains. To the south the land is hills of the Piedmont Plateau and then the fertile lowlands of the Coastal Plain. Swampy areas are found in the south.

Georgia is considered the economic and cultural center of the southeast. It is named the peach state because its temperate climate with mild winters which makes it the number one producer of peaches in the nation. Georgia also is recognized around the world as a leader in the poultry industry. Major Industries are service industries and manufacturing. Major manufactures are cotton, textiles, apparel, timber, carpets, transportation equipment, processed foods, and paper. Georgia is heavily wooded and is a leading producer of lumber, pulpwood, and resins and turpentine. Georgia also provides 60% of the world's kaolin and is known for its fine marble. Principal crops are peanuts, tobacco, corn, and cotton, and soybeans.

Georgia has 159 counties:
Appling Atkinson Bacon Baker Baldwin Banks Barrow Bartow Ben Hill Berrien Bibb Bleckley Brantley Brooks Bryan Bulloch Burke Butts Calhoun Camden Candler Carroll Catoosa Charlton Chatham Chattahoochee Chattooga Cherokee Clarke Clay Clayton Clinch Cobb Coffee Colquitt Columbia Cook Coweta Crawford Crisp Dade Dawson Decatur DeKalb Dodge Dooly Dougherty Douglas Early Echols Effingham Elbert Emanuel Evans Fannin Fayette Floyd Forsyth Franklin Fulton Gilmer Glascock Glynn Gordon Grady Greene Gwinnett Habersham Hall Hancock Haralson Harris Hart Heard Henry Houston Irwin Jackson Jasper Jeff Javis Jefferson Jenkins Johnson Jones Lamar Lanier Laurens Lee Liberty Lincoln Long Lowndes Lumpkin Macon Madison Marion McDuffie McIntosh Meriwether Miller Mitchell Monroe Montgomery Morgan Murray Muscogee Newton Oconee Oglethorpe Paulding Peach Pickens Pierce Pike Polk Pulaski Putnam Quitman Rabun Randolph Richmond Rockdale Schley Screven Seminole Spalding Stephens Stewart Sumter Talbot Taliaferro Tattnall Taylor Telfair Terrell Thomas Tift Toombs Towns Treutlen Troup Turner Twiggs Union Upson Walker Walton Ware Warren Washington Wayne Webster Wheeler White Whitfield Wilcox Wilkes Wilkinson Worth Campbell/Milton

Search State Directories