Arizona . . . State 48

The Arizona State Flag was adopted on February 17, 1917 by the Arizona State Legislature. Designed by Charles W. Harris and first sewn by Nan D. Hayden, the flag measures four feet high and six feet wide. The flag is divided into a top and bottom half with a large five point copper star in the center. The 13 rays of red and gold on the top half of the flag represent both the 13 original colonies of the Union, and the rays of the Western setting sun. Red and gold were also the colors carried by Coronado's Spanish expedition in search of the Seven Cities of Cibola in 1540. The bottom half of the flag has the same Liberty blue as the United States flag. Since Arizona was the largest producer of copper in the nation, a copper star was placed in the flag's center.

Arizona is nicknamed the "Grand Canyon State" and became the 48th state on February 14, 1912. The capital city and also the largest city is Phoenix. Arizona borders California, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Mexico.

World famous for its beautiful scenery, Arizona is home to many of the world's most spectacular natural wonders, including the Grand Canyon National Park, The Red Rocks of Sedona, Monument Valley, Meteor Crater and the Painted Desert. Tourism is one of the top industries and it is a favorite stop of golfers and vacationers and also is one of the most popular retirement destinations.

Arizona Economy - Agriculture: Cattle, cotton, dairy products, lettuce, nursery stock, hay.

Arizona Industry - Copper and other mining, electric equipment, transportation equipment, machinery, printing and publishing, food processing, electronics, tourism. Arizona leads the nation in copper production

The climate of Arizona is varies throughout the state because of the elevation difference. A great thing about Arizona is that during any season in Arizona, some part of the state almost always enjoys pleasant weather. The northern mountainous part of the state experiences snowfall in the winter and can get very cold and at higher elevations with daytime highs in the 20s and 30s . The state's northern and eastern mountain regions normally receive 150 to 300 inches of snow. The southern desert area has mild winters and dry low humid hot summers. Daytime temperatures can top 110 degrees Fahrenheit in Phoenix to Tucson and the rest of the southern part of the state. The state averages over 225 sunny days each year, with the Phoenix and Tucson areas exceeding 300 days. Rainfall in the central and southern desert portion averages only 8 inches yearly, while in the northern mountains, 25 inches or more on average.

Arizona has 15 Counties:
Apache County - Cochise County - Coconino County - Gila County - Graham County - Greenlee County - La Paz County - Maricopa County - Mohave County - Navajo County - Pima County - Pinal County - Santa Cruz County - Yavapai County - Yuma County

Search State Directories